Briody Bedding wins overall award at SFA National Small Business Awards 2018

Thursday, 22 February 2018

    • Briody Bedding named overall winner at the SFA National Small Business Awards 2018
    • Minister for Business, Enterprise and Innovation, Heather Humphries TD, presents awards to the best in small business
    • Finalist companies from 13 counties employ 607 people

Briody Bedding has won the Overall SFA National Small Business Award 2018.

The aim of the awards is to celebrate the achievements of small business in Ireland, and to recognise the vital contribution of the small business sector to the Irish economy. The winners were selected from hundreds of applications received for the 2018 programme.

Briody Bedding is based in Ballinrink Co. Meath, employing 50 people. It is one of the largest and most comprehensive bedding and furniture manufacturers in Ireland and produces a diversified line of mattress and foundation products. All products are manufactured in Ireland and distributed to furniture retailers throughout the country on a daily basis. Brands by Briody include Briody Bedding, Spring Air, Therapedic and The Pocket Spring Bed Company.

Announcing the winner, Sue O’Neill, SFA Chair and Chair of the Awards Judging Panel, said: “This family business established in 1974 is going from strength to strength. Briody Bedding is one of the largest employers in Ballinrink, Co Meath and the company is not only manufacturing there, it is carrying out extensive R&D to develop innovative products to help the company penetrate new export markets.”

Minister for Business, Enterprise and Innovation, Heather Humphries TD, who presented the Awards stated: ““Ireland has a strong history of entrepreneurship and, without a doubt, this year’s nominees personify the strength of resilience and character that makes up our small business sector. Given their level of enthusiasm and determination, I have no doubt that each of these businesses have a very bright future ahead of them. The Government is committed to supporting the sector in every way it can with a particular focus on the context of Brexit. We provide a suite of supports to businesses, including through our enterprise agencies and, at the end of March, I will open a €300m Brexit Loan Scheme in partnership with Minister Michael Creed, the EIB, the European Commission and the SBCI.”

The seven category winners are:
    • Manufacturing: Briody Bedding (Meath)
    • Food & Drink: Revive Active (Galway)
    • Services: Irish Tax Rebates (Kildare)
        o Highly commended: Kerona Scientific (Dublin)
    • Outstanding Small Business (up to 5 employees): (Dublin)
        o Highly commended: Mezzo Music Academy (Dublin)
    • Innovator of the Year: Aalto Bio Reagents (Dublin)
    • Sustainable Energy: Courtown Adventure and Leisure Centre (Wexford)
        o Highly commended: Starting Small Standing Tall (Limerick)
    • Exporter of the Year: Good4U (Sligo)
This is the fourteenth year of the SFA National Small Business Awards, an initiative of the Small Firms Association.

The award categories are sponsored by AIB, Bord Bia, DHL, Energia, Enterprise Ireland, the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland and Three. The Emerging New Business section is sponsored by IE Domain Registry. Skillnets is the management development partner.

Speaking at the Awards Gala Ceremony, Sue O’Neill said “In our growing economy the companies we are recognising with these awards are doing well. They are creating employment. Evident amongst them is a strategic approach to diversification in order to combat the immediate and potential future effects of Brexit. Small businesses contributed to the recovery of our economy by making difficult decisions in times of recession. They are proving yet again their resilience and flexibility when faced with new challenges.”


For interviews, please contact: Sue O’Neill, SFA Chair, 087 9013311

Issued by: Linda Barry, SFA Assistant Director, 01 6051626 / 087 1472811 or

    • Interviews with the Award Winners can be arranged through Gillian O’Keefe, Awards Executive on 01 6051664 / 087 3522347 or
    • Photographs from the awards ceremony are available from

For more information see